Monday, June 28, 2010

Qualify this

The Oilers officially qualified 10 of their RFA's today. 

  • Gilbert Brule
  • Andrew Cogliano
  • Jeff Deslauriers
  • Devan Dubnyk
  • Colin Fraser
  • Sam Gagner
  • Jean-Francois Jacques
  • Ryan O’Marra
  • Theo Peckham
  • Liam Reddox
What this means for the organization is that 6 players are unqualified and become UFA's. Marc-Antoine Pouliot, Ryan Potulny, Bryan Lerg, Slava Trukhno, Geoff Paukovich, and Josef Hrabal.

Frankly, I'm surprised they bothered to qualify Liam Reddox.

Oh, Pouliot we hardly knew you... could be this bad. Forever you will be linked to Parise, Getzlaf, or Mike Richards. These men are big centers with grit and size that we needed when KP decided to trade down and draft you because you had a tough year and came through it. After 176 NHL games and 56 points we have pulled the chute.

In these moves the Oilers continue to overhaul the roster. We have more contracts available to fill holes with better all around players with edges or dimensions in their game. We got bigger by default and grittier. This organization is showing that it can recognize faults and is going to correct them. It is a positive sign.

After the draft this much is clear. The Oilers are a team looking for size and toughness. It's looking for grit and it wants to be harder to play against. This is a great step in a new direction.

No comments: