Monday, February 6, 2012

Revisiting the Oilers dominated 1986 NHL All Star game in Hartford

Revisiting the 1986 Edmonton Oilers all stars, AKA the Campbell Conference all star team.  It isn't a stretch to say that the 1985-86 Oilers may have been the most talented of the 5 Stanley Cup winners.  The 38th NHL All Star Game was proof of that.  No fewer than 9 Edmonton Oilers were on the roster for the Campbell Conference and Glen Sather was the head coach of the team.

The starting line up of the Campbell Conference had 5 starting Edmonton Oilers.  Grant Fuhr started in goal.  Paul Coffey and Black Hawks defenseman Doug Wilson on defense.  Jari Kurri and Glenn Anderson were centered by Wayne Gretzky.   Gretzky was the Captain.

5 starters were impressive, but the 4 others named to the team made it an incredible feat.  Lee Fogolin and Kevin Lowe were added to the defense, Mark Messier on left wing, and Andy Moog as back up.

The Campbell Conference lost in OT to the Wales Conference, Bryan Trottier beat Andy Moog on a feed from Mike Bossy.  In Sather could have added a few more Oilers there is no doubt he would have won.  

The 1985/86 Edmonton Oilers were a special team.  At the end of the season Gretzky and Coffey were name to the first all star team and Jari Kurri to the second all star team.  Gretzky would win the Hart Memorial Trophy and the Art Ross Trophy after completing a 215 point season, of which he scored 52 goals.  The Oilers won the President’s Trophy with 119 points, a 56-17-1 record.  The Oilers scored a total of 426 goals for while allowing 310 goals against.

Other awards included a James Norris Trophy for defenseman Paul Coffey and a Jack Adams Trophy for Coach Glen Sather.  Paul Coffey finished third in league scoring and set a record for defenseman goal scoring with 48 goals and 138 points (second to Bobby Orr's 139 points).  Jari Kurri finished fourth in league scoring with 68 goals and 131 points.

It was all for not, the Flames defeated the Oilers in the Smythe Division finals 4 games to 3 on that infamous own goal from Steve Smith on Grant Fuhr.  The Oilers did change the world in the 1985/86.  Prior to the start of the season the NHL would create the Oilers Rule to slow down the fire wagon style of hockey the Oilers played.  The amendment of the rule allowed for the teams to stay at 5 aside on coincidental penalties instead of 4 on 4.  In essence the NHL killed 4 on 4 hockey, it was later repealed.

A forum poster since 2000, Jay is the Moderator of the Edmonton Oilers forum the Motley Crude. He also contributes to his blog Oilers Republic and to the Oilogosphere. You can follow him on twitter ( Also, an Oilers blogger atSportsnet Fan Fuel.

Follow Oilers Republic on Facebook and Oilers Republic on Google+. Also, follow the Motley Crude on Facebook and the Motley Crude on Google+.

In February by joining the Motley Crude and participating in the forum you will be entered in a draw to win ONE Boston Pizza gift card ($25 value).

No comments: